Drumroll please

JAX Innovation Awards 2017: And the winners are…

JAXenter Editorial Team
Innovation Awards
© Shutterstock / focal point

You voted, we listened. The winners of the JAX Innovation Awards 2017 have been announced this evening at the JAX London conference. So, let’s take a look at the celebration of this year’s winners!

Every year, we celebrate the organizations and individuals who help make this field as bright and amazing as it can be as a part of the Innovation Awards. This year, we asked for nominations and votes from the JAXenter community and were blown away by the response.

You voted and we listened. So, it is with great pleasure that we announce our winners for this year’s Innovation Awards!

Most innovative contribution to the Java ecosystem

This category aims to compliment the achievements of both the heavyweights of the Java ecosystem and the field’s newcomers. The emphasis ranges from data stores, language features, frameworks to JVM languages, tools and more.

The winner is….

Apache Spark!

Apache Spark is a fast and general engine for large-scale data processing. Originally developed at the University of California, Berkeley’s AMPLab, the Spark codebase was later donated to the Apache Software Foundation, which has maintained it since.


Kotlin took silver and JHipster was an honorable bronze.

Most innovative solution to Software Delivery & DevOps

This category rewards technologies, companies, organizations and/or individuals that conceive groundbreaking solutions to promote any of the following areas: DevOps, Continuous Delivery, cloud and/or container technologies.

And the winner is…


Gabriela Motroc and Sebastian Meyen

Kubernetes is an open-source system for automating deployment, scaling, and management of containerized applications. It groups containers that make up an application into logical units for easy management and discovery.


This was another close race. came in second place and Go took third.

JAX Special Jury Award

This award celebrates exceptional achievements by a visionary individual, organization, or technology. This award is determined by our esteemed jury panel.

And the winner is…

Jürgen Höller

Gabriela Motroc and Sebastian Meyen

Jury rationale:

Today, as part of the Special Jury Award, we recognize the leader and coordinator of the Spring Framework. There’s probably no other person in the Java community that shaped and maintained such a large code base over so many years.

People familiar with the Spring Framework have regularly noted Spring Framework’s high-quality engineering; Jürgen helps maintain this clarity by inspiring his co-workers rather than rigidly enforcing code guidelines. Jürgen’s efforts ensure that the spirit of Spring infuses every line of code in the framework.

Thanks to this philosophy, Spring’s framework has never needed a complete rewrite, Instead, it has continuously adapted to the changing trends and challenges, highlighting Jurgen’s skill as a leader. This flexible approach has allowed Spring to grow organically and harmoniously in whichever direction the community needs.

Thank you, Jürgen, for everything you’ve done for Spring Framework!

Thanks again to everyone for voting! Congratulations again to all of our fabulous winners for the JAX Innovation Awards 2017!

If you want to have a look at last year’s winners, here is the list

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments