Finalists Announced For Eclipse Community Awards 2010


The Eclipse Foundation has announced the finalists for the 2010 Eclipse Community Awards.

The Individual Awards category looks to recognise individuals who have made a significant contribution to the Eclipse community. The finalists were selected by their peers in an online vote. The Top Committer finalists are Boris Bokowski, Markus Schorn and Eike Stepper. The Top Contributor finalists are Matt Hall, Laurens Holst, James Sugrue and Lars Vogel. The selection of the Top Newcomer Evangelist is based on the amount of questions raised and answered by Eclipse members on the eclipse.newcomer newsgroup. Top Newcomer Evangelist finalists are Russell Bateman, Walter Harley and Lars Vogel.

The Project Awards distinguishes Eclipse projects that display innovation and foster community. Finalists were selected by an online vote. The Most Open Project finalists are e4, Equinox p2, Mylyn and XML Tools in Web Tools Platform (WTP) Incubator. Meanwhile, EclipseLink, Standard Widget Toolkit (SWT) Cocoa Port and Textual Modeling Framework (TMF) Xtext are the finalists for the Most Innovative New Feature or Eclipse Project award.

The Technology Awards recognise Eclipse-based tools and applications. The finalists were selected by judging panels from the Eclipse community, who selected BIRT Mashboard Application, GUIdancer and Zend Studio 7 as the finalists for Best Commercial Developer Tool. They also selected BIRT iServer Enterprise and SpringSource dm Server as their finalists for Best EclipseRT Application; and Bioclipse, PosterGenius and Tasktop Pro as Best RCP Application finalists.

Please note that the voting for Best Open Source Developer Tool is now closed. The winner of this award, along with winners in all the above categories, will be announced at the Eclipse Awards ceremony at EclipseCon.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments