The JAX Innovation Awards 2012


The JAX Innovation Awards is an award ceremony that celebrates the culture of innovation that exemplifies the Java ecosystem.

After much anticipation, we are proud to announce that this
year’s JAX Innovation Awards
are open for nominations. This year the awards will coincide with
the JAXconf on July
9th in San Francisco, CA. On that day when the entire
community come and celebrate the culture of innovation that
exemplifies the Java ecosystem, whether it will be in person at the
JAX event or simply through your commitment to the awards through
nominating and voting.

For those of you aren’t aware of the JAX Innovation Awards here
is the rundown on what it is all about.

Our mission is a simple one; we want to reward those
technologies, companies, organisations and individuals that make
outstanding contributions to Java, but to do that we need you. The
JAX Innovation Awards are not something that any one company or
small collection of individuals can conduct. To reflect the entire
Java ecosystem, we need a collective, collaborative effort from
across the globe.

You nominate the individuals, companies and technologies who you
think deserve recognition. We then ask a panel of independent
experts to create a shortlist of 5 finalists in each category. Then
it’s back to the community to have the final say.

So what are the categories? One of the reasons why the JAX
Innovation Awards are successful is because we don’t over
complicate it. Rather than having a long winded ceremony, we have
just four categories:

  • Most innovative Java technology
  • Most innovative Java company
  • Top Java Ambassador
  • Special Jury award

Over a two week period, the jury will decide on the shortlist,
but that is not their only task. The panel will award a special
Jury award to one of the submitted nominees, in acknowledgement of
their unique contribution and positive impact on the Java
ecosystem, which will also be announced at the ceremony on July

So far we have already agreed on 7 Java experts to sit on the
jury, with one or two more to be confirmed soon. At the moment we

  • Eberhard Wolff, the Architecture and Technology Manager for the
    German based company, adessoAG.
  • Tim Berglund, a full-stack software generalist and passionate
    teacher who loves to code, presenting, and working with
  • Martijn Verburg, CTO for jClarity with over 10 years experience
    as a Java/JVM technology professional and OSS mentor. He also
    co-leads the London Java Community (LJC).
  • Fabiane Bizinella Nardon, a computer scientist who is
    passionate about creating software that will positively change the
    world we live in. She is the founder and coordinator of SouJava.
  • Jevgeni Kabanov, the founder and CEO of ZeroTurnaround, a development
    tools company that focuses on productivity.
  • James Governor, the Principal Analyst and co-founder of
  • Sebastian Meyen, chief content officer at S&S Media and conference chair of
    the JAX series.

To be acknowledged as best-in-class by peers from the entire
Java ecosystem and by a panel of Java experts, it really is an
honour. If having that crown wasn’t enough, we also give $2,500 to
each winner.

Get your opinion heard; voice it in the JAX Innovation Awards
2012. Nominations are open until May 7th and will then
reopen on May 28th for the community voting on the
decided shortlist.

For information or to submit a nomination, both can be found at
. Follow JAXconf on Twitter for the JAX Innovation Awards updates

You can also find JAXconf on Facebook,

comments powered by Disqus