Early OpenJDK Bylaws

OpenJDK Bylaws Published

Jessica Thornsby

Mark Reinhold has published a draft of the new bylaws for OpenJDK.

Mark Reinhold has published a draft of the OpenJDK Bylaws. The bylaws are based on
the interim guidelines for Groups and Projects, established in
2007. Reinhold stresses that this is a draft, and he requests
feedback from the community before the final version is

The draft currently defines an initial Governing Board to
oversee the “structure, operation and overall healthy of the
Community.” The initial board will consist of Oracle’s Adam
Messinger and Mark Reinhold, Mike Milinkovich from Eclipse, IBM’s
Jason Gartner and Doug Lea. These members will serve for one
calendar year, after which they’ll be nominated and elected in a
process that will be open to all “key members” of the community.
Red Hat’s Mark Wielaard has picked fault with this
initial board, pointing out that Adam Messinger, Jason Gartner and
Mark Reinhold are there by appointment, which places the
independent candidates in the minority. The original
OpenJDK Charter
gave the majority of seats to elected

The draft also forbids non-Contributors to submit “anything
larger than a simple patch,” and defines a Contributor as someone
who has signed the Oracle Contributor agreement, or who is employed
by an organisation that has signed the agreement or its equivalent.
Simon Phipps calls this copyright “explicitly
aggregated solely in Oracle’s hands,” but is pragmatic about this
restriction: “without it I doubt that either IBM or Apple would be
involved in OpenJDK since it would be impossible for Oracle to
privately license the resulting Java implementation to them under
terms they would accept (neither of them like GPL).”

The draft will be revised based on the community’s feedback,
until 3rd March 2011, after which the finished draft will be put to
the OpenJDK Community members for ratification via an “appropriate
democratic process.”

comments powered by Disqus